South Africa beats Democratic Republic of Congo and wins African Cup bronze medal


South Africa finished third in the African Cup of Nations, which ended in a title clash between the host country and Nigeria in Ivory Coast on Sunday, with the Democratic Republic of Congo losing 6-1 on penalties after regular time ended. Defeated by 5. Goalless draw on Saturday.

The South African team, led by Belgian coach Hugo Brothers, was confident of reaching the final for the first time since 1998 when it lost to Egypt, and crowned with a title for the third time in its history, which it did in 1996 against Tunisia. Won against on home ground. In their first participation since the end of the apartheid regime, especially after that prestigious trip that saw Morocco reach their fourth World Cup in 2022, they were knocked out of the final stage by being defeated 2–0 by Nigeria but 2–4 on penalties. Lost to. After a 1–1 draw in regular and extra time.

After the Nigeria exit, Bruce said, “Football can be cruel (especially) when you look at my team's performance and when you lose on penalties and don't go to the final. It's hard to digest. We've had a lot of tough times. Well played, good pair.”

As for the Democratic Republic of the Congo, which was crowned champions in 1968 under the name Congo-Kinshasa and in 1974 under the name Zaire and finished third under its current name in 1998 and 2015, it hosts Lost to Ivory Coast 0. 1.

South Africa defeated the Democratic Republic of Congo 1–0 in a friendly on 12 September.

The match for 3rd and 4th place was wide open as both teams went on the offensive and had no chance to regain the lead, but luck was against them and they decided to take penalty kicks straight away as South Africa missed the first kick. . Teboho Mokoena through, before Chancelle Mbemba missed what could have been a fifth kick. to decide the match for Congo, and Meshach Elia followed suit, leading South Africa to victory.

The “Bafana Bafana” team won the African World Cup bronze medal for the second time in its history, after first achieving it in the 22nd edition held in Ghana and Nigeria in 2000.

Read Previous

She went through true horror.. The murder of child Hind is a new proof of the brutality of the occupation

Read Next

Saint-Germain gave a hat-trick to Lille in the French league

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular